Skip to main content
Resolutions & Amendments

33rd International Convention - Honolulu, HI (1998)

PEOPLE Committees

Resolution No. 32
33rd International Convention
August 24-28, 1998
Honolulu, HI


AFSCME PEOPLE Committees have as their objective the implementation of successful political, legislative, and fundraising programs designed to meet the needs of AFSCME members within their respective jurisdictions; and


The activities of PEOPLE Committees include such vital functions as: (1) the establishment of grassroots lobbying mechanisms to accomplish timely and effective responses to local, state and national legislative initiatives, (2) the institutionalization of political fundraising and (3) the development and maintenance of a corps of trained, active political volunteers; and


Business and right-wing organizations that oppose labor's interests will continue to spend millions of dollars against us, and our ability to fight anti-labor interests depends on a well-structured PEOPLE organization in every AFSCME council, local and retiree chapter in the country; and


PEOPLE Committees that have been established in several states across the country have demonstrated their ability to perform activities such as lobbying, screening, endorsing and campaigning for candidates at all levels of government, and have also demonstrated the awareness and capabilities to raise PEOPLE voluntary funds to finance these activities.


That AFSCME adopt as a national goal, the establishment of standing PEOPLE Committees in each local, council and retiree chapter; and, in those states where more than one council exists, those councils will develop a joint PEOPLE structure for the purpose of establishing full participation in the state's political process; and that the International Union assist in developing these structures with legal, technical and administrative training where necessary; and


That each council and local Director/President submit to the national PEOPLE Committee the name, address and telephone number of the PEOPLE Committee chairs from their respective councils and locals.


Flora Walker, President and Delegate
Lawrence A. Roehrig, Secretary-Treasurer and Delegate
AFSCME Council 25