News / Publications » Publications

Sanz Wins 2004 Parisi Scholarship


Tina Sanz, an executive board member of Council 14, has received AFSCME's 2004 Parisi Scholarship. It covers one year's participation in the B.A. program at the National Labor College/George Meany Center for Labor Studies, and it can be renewed for an additional year.

Although she has been an AFSCME member for less than six years, Sanz has taken full advantage of opportunities for activism: serving on the local's bargaining committee; screening candidates for office; and chairing her legislative district's Take Back Minnesota campaign. Sanz also served as secretary of Local 9, and currently sits on its executive board. She has a deep commitment to organizing — particularly through the development of coalitions that help build a sense of community.

The Joey Parisi Memorial Scholarship was established to honor a long-time AFSCME organizer, now deceased. It is targeted to the needs of full-time local, council and International union staff, and local union officers with substantial organizing responsibilities. Those wishing to be considered for the 2005 scholarship must submit completed applications for the National Labor College — including the required essay for the scholarship — postmarked no later than Nov. 15, 2004. For more information or to request an application, write to: The National Labor College, 10000 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, Md. 20903 or call 1-800-462-4237. 

Get news & updates from AFSCME