http://www.afscme.org/rss/blog Thu, 20 Aug 2015 05:00:00 +0000 AMPS en hourly 1 AFSCME Now Feed Recent posts on AFSCME Now NAACP Honors Former Sec.-Treas. Bill Lucy, 1968 Memphis Strikers http://www.afscme.org/now/naacp-honors-former-sec-treas-bill-lucy-1968-memphis-strikers Wed, 17 Jan 2018 13:09:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/naacp-honors-former-sec-treas-bill-lucy-1968-memphis-strikers CSEA Member’s Quick Thinking Saves a Life http://www.afscme.org/now/csea-member-quick-thinking-saves-a-life Tue, 16 Jan 2018 12:00:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/csea-member-quick-thinking-saves-a-life On The Record: I AM 2018 http://www.afscme.org/now/on-the-record-i-am-2018 Mon, 15 Jan 2018 10:00:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/on-the-record-i-am-2018 AFSCME Submits Merits Brief in the Janus case http://www.afscme.org/now/afscme-submits-merits-brief-in-the-janus-case Fri, 12 Jan 2018 14:34:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/afscme-submits-merits-brief-in-the-janus-case Sanitation Work Still Among Most Dangerous – Especially at Private Firms http://www.afscme.org/now/sanitation-work-still-among-most-dangerous-especially-at-private-firms Thu, 11 Jan 2018 15:27:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/sanitation-work-still-among-most-dangerous-especially-at-private-firms U.S. Leads in CEO Pay – More Than 250 Times That of Average Worker http://www.afscme.org/now/us-leads-in-ceo-pay-more-than-250-times-that-of-average-worker Wed, 10 Jan 2018 15:09:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/us-leads-in-ceo-pay-more-than-250-times-that-of-average-worker Atlantic City Water Services to Remain in Public Hands http://www.afscme.org/now/atlantic-city-water-services-to-remain-in-public-hands Tue, 09 Jan 2018 14:29:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/atlantic-city-water-services-to-remain-in-public-hands Council 17, Louisiana Department of Health Negotiate Historic Contract http://www.afscme.org/now/council-17-louisiana-department-of-health-negotiate-historic-contract Mon, 08 Jan 2018 14:38:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/council-17-louisiana-department-of-health-negotiate-historic-contract Trump Infrastructure Plan Will Likely Mean Higher Tolls and Fewer Jobs http://www.afscme.org/now/trump-infrastructure-plan-will-likely-mean-higher-tolls-and-fewer-jobs Fri, 05 Jan 2018 14:14:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/trump-infrastructure-plan-will-likely-mean-higher-tolls-and-fewer-jobs Miami-Dade School Employees Finish 2017 With Big Contract Win http://www.afscme.org/now/miami-dade-school-employees-finish-2017-with-big-contract-win Thu, 04 Jan 2018 16:47:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/miami-dade-school-employees-finish-2017-with-big-contract-win A Very Long Year for Working Families http://www.afscme.org/now/a-very-long-year-for-working-families Wed, 03 Jan 2018 15:39:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/a-very-long-year-for-working-families Splash Medics Is Saving Children from Drowning http://www.afscme.org/now/lisa-la-russo-never-quit Tue, 02 Jan 2018 12:00:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/lisa-la-russo-never-quit AFSCME Never Quits on Public Service Workers http://www.afscme.org/now/afscme-never-quits-on-public-service-workers Thu, 21 Dec 2017 12:00:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/afscme-never-quits-on-public-service-workers MI Supreme Court Sides with Public School Employees in Wage Theft Case http://www.afscme.org/now/mi-supreme-court-sides-with-public-school-employees-in-wage-theft-case Thu, 21 Dec 2017 15:14:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/mi-supreme-court-sides-with-public-school-employees-in-wage-theft-case Tax Bill Showers Billions in Tax Cuts on Private Corporations http://www.afscme.org/now/tax-bill-showers-billions-in-tax-cuts Wed, 20 Dec 2017 17:15:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/tax-bill-showers-billions-in-tax-cuts Close to the Cliff: How CHIP Might Fail http://www.afscme.org/now/close-to-the-cliff-how-chip-might-fail Tue, 19 Dec 2017 17:21:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/close-to-the-cliff-how-chip-might-fail Retirement Security Focus of New Michigan Retirees Chapter http://www.afscme.org/now/retirement-security-focus-of-new-michigan-retirees-chapter Mon, 18 Dec 2017 14:37:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/retirement-security-focus-of-new-michigan-retirees-chapter NYC Union Fights State Workers’ Compensation Changes http://www.afscme.org/now/nyc-union-fights-state-workers-compensation-changes Fri, 15 Dec 2017 15:32:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/nyc-union-fights-state-workers-compensation-changes Some 600 Hospital Workers in Northern California Join AFSCME http://www.afscme.org/now/some-600-hospital-workers-in-northern-california-join-afscme Thu, 14 Dec 2017 12:42:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/some-600-hospital-workers-in-northern-california-join-afscme Congress Should Seat Jones Before Voting on ‘Historically Unpopular’ Tax Bill http://www.afscme.org/now/congress-should-seat-jones-before-voting-on-historically-unpopular-tax-bill Wed, 13 Dec 2017 16:53:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/congress-should-seat-jones-before-voting-on-historically-unpopular-tax-bill How to Ensure Pay Fairness Through Your Union http://www.afscme.org/now/how-to-ensure-pay-fairness-through-your-union Wed, 13 Dec 2017 15:42:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/how-to-ensure-pay-fairness-through-your-union Carving up the Classroom http://www.afscme.org/now/carving-up-the-classroom Tue, 12 Dec 2017 17:17:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/carving-up-the-classroom Mother’s Legacy Inspires Ohio State Worker to Never Quit http://www.afscme.org/now/mothers-legacy-inspires-ohio-state-worker-to-never-quit Mon, 11 Dec 2017 13:33:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/mothers-legacy-inspires-ohio-state-worker-to-never-quit The False Slogan of Right to Work: An Attack on Worker Freedom http://www.afscme.org/now/the-false-slogan-of-right-to-work-an-attack-on-worker-freedom Fri, 08 Dec 2017 17:12:08 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/the-false-slogan-of-right-to-work-an-attack-on-worker-freedom Former AFSCME Leader to Receive Prestigious NAACP Award http://www.afscme.org/now/former-afscme-leader-to-receive-prestigious-naacp-award Fri, 08 Dec 2017 16:31:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/now/former-afscme-leader-to-receive-prestigious-naacp-award