http://www.afscme.org/rss/blog Thu, 20 Jan 2020 05:00:00 +0000 AMPS en AFSCME Blog Feed AFSCME Blog Feed hourly 1 A Life of Service: One Man’s Mission to Put Others First http://www.afscme.org/blog/a-life-of-service-one-mans-mission-to-put-others-first Tue, 26 May 2020 15:39:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/a-life-of-service-one-mans-mission-to-put-others-first ‘Public service workers are … crucial to fighting this pandemic’ http://www.afscme.org/blog/public-service-workers-are-crucial-to-fighting-this-pandemic Fri, 22 May 2020 14:11:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/public-service-workers-are-crucial-to-fighting-this-pandemic ‘It’s Like 9/11 Every Day’ http://www.afscme.org/blog/its-like-911-every-day Fri, 22 May 2020 13:55:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/its-like-911-every-day U.S. Business Leaders Call on Senate to Help States, Cities and Towns http://www.afscme.org/blog/us-business-leaders-call-on-senate-to-help-states-cities-and-towns Thu, 21 May 2020 15:08:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/us-business-leaders-call-on-senate-to-help-states-cities-and-towns All EMS Workers Should be Eligible for Federal Benefits Program http://www.afscme.org/blog/all-ems-workers-should-be-eligible-for-federal-benefits-program Thu, 21 May 2020 11:03:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/all-ems-workers-should-be-eligible-for-federal-benefits-program To Avoid Economic Depression, Senate Must Pass Federal Support for Local Services http://www.afscme.org/blog/to-avoid-economic-depression-senate-must-pass-federal-support-for-local-services Wed, 20 May 2020 14:03:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/to-avoid-economic-depression-senate-must-pass-federal-support-for-local-services Pandemic Sparks Awareness of the Importance of Mental Health http://www.afscme.org/blog/pandemic-sparks-awareness-of-the-importance-of-mental-health Tue, 19 May 2020 12:07:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/pandemic-sparks-awareness-of-the-importance-of-mental-health During National EMS Week, Thank First Responders with More Than Words http://www.afscme.org/blog/during-national-ems-week-thank-first-responders-with-more-than-words Mon, 18 May 2020 14:15:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/during-national-ems-week-thank-first-responders-with-more-than-words ‘Labor Rights and Voting Rights are Deeply Interconnected’ http://www.afscme.org/blog/labor-rights-and-voting-rights-are-deeply-interconnected Fri, 15 May 2020 10:55:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/labor-rights-and-voting-rights-are-deeply-interconnected AFSCME Members Recovering From COVID-19 Share Their Stories, Seek State, Local Aid http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-members-recovering-from-covid-19-share-their-stories-seek-state-local-aid Thu, 14 May 2020 15:49:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-members-recovering-from-covid-19-share-their-stories-seek-state-local-aid Poll: Most Americans Support Stimulus for States, Cities and Towns http://www.afscme.org/blog/poll-most-americans-support-stimulus-for-states-cities-and-towns Thu, 14 May 2020 12:08:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/poll-most-americans-support-stimulus-for-states-cities-and-towns Charles County Workers Win Collective Bargaining Rights After a Long Fight http://www.afscme.org/blog/charles-county-workers-win-collective-bargaining-rights-after-a-long-fight Wed, 13 May 2020 17:24:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/charles-county-workers-win-collective-bargaining-rights-after-a-long-fight Saunders Named to Economic Task Force Set Up by Biden, Sanders http://www.afscme.org/blog/saunders-named-to-economic-task-force-set-up-by-biden-sanders Wed, 13 May 2020 15:02:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/saunders-named-to-economic-task-force-set-up-by-biden-sanders AFSCME Members Keep Maine Moving Forward http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-members-keep-maine-moving-forward Wed, 13 May 2020 12:10:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-members-keep-maine-moving-forward Saunders: HEROES Act Is Right for America http://www.afscme.org/blog/saunders-heroes-act-is-right-for-america Tue, 12 May 2020 17:51:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/saunders-heroes-act-is-right-for-america AFSCME Announces Family Scholarship Winners http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-announces-family-scholarship-winners Tue, 12 May 2020 15:16:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/afscme-announces-family-scholarship-winners Helping to Bring Babies into the World of COVID-19 http://www.afscme.org/blog/helping-to-bring-babies-into-the-world-of-covid-19 Mon, 11 May 2020 15:42:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/helping-to-bring-babies-into-the-world-of-covid-19 Honoring AFSCME Public Safety Members During Law Enforcement Week http://www.afscme.org/blog/honoring-afscme-public-safety-members-during-law-enforcement-week Mon, 11 May 2020 13:44:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/honoring-afscme-public-safety-members-during-law-enforcement-week Congress Can’t Abandon States, Localities As Unemployment Climbs Sky High http://www.afscme.org/blog/congress-cant-abandon-states-localities-as-unemployment-climbs-sky-high Fri, 08 May 2020 16:43:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/congress-cant-abandon-states-localities-as-unemployment-climbs-sky-high Black Civil Rights and Faith Leaders Call for State and Local Aid http://www.afscme.org/blog/black-civil-rights-and-faith-leaders-call-for-state-and-local-aid Fri, 08 May 2020 14:54:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/black-civil-rights-and-faith-leaders-call-for-state-and-local-aid Happy Mother’s Day to My AFSCME Mom – My Everyday Hero http://www.afscme.org/blog/happy-mothers-day-to-my-afscme-mom-my-everyday-hero Fri, 08 May 2020 14:11:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/happy-mothers-day-to-my-afscme-mom-my-everyday-hero The Case Against Private Prisons http://www.afscme.org/blog/the-case-against-private-prisons Thu, 07 May 2020 17:53:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/the-case-against-private-prisons Congressional Black Caucus Town Hall on State, Local Aid Features Florida Member, President Saunders http://www.afscme.org/blog/congressional-black-caucus-town-hall-on-state-local-aid-features-florida-member-president-saunders Thu, 07 May 2020 15:30:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/congressional-black-caucus-town-hall-on-state-local-aid-features-florida-member-president-saunders Despite Scarce Support, NJ Hospital Workers Continue to Protect Patients and Staff http://www.afscme.org/blog/despite-scarce-support-nj-hospital-workers-continue-to-protect-patients-and-staff Wed, 06 May 2020 15:40:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/despite-scarce-support-nj-hospital-workers-continue-to-protect-patients-and-staff Connecticut Nurse and Mother of Two Is All About Her Patients – And Her Boys http://www.afscme.org/blog/connecticut-nurse-and-mother-of-two-is-all-about-her-patients-and-her-boys Wed, 06 May 2020 14:23:00 -0500 http://www.afscme.org/blog/connecticut-nurse-and-mother-of-two-is-all-about-her-patients-and-her-boys