Skip to main content
Resolutions & Amendments

39th International Convention - Boston, MA (2010)

Recognizing Contributions of First Generation Immigrants

Resolution No. 45
39th International Convention
Boston Covention & Exhibition Center
June 28 - July 2, 2010
Boston, MA

The 2000 census counted some 28 million first generation immigrants among us; the highest number in history. In 2008, the ten countries from which the most legal immigrants came were, in order, Mexico, India, China, Philippines, Vietnam, Dominican Republic, Pakistan, Haiti, South Korea and El Salvador. Contemporary immigrants settle predominantly in seven states – California, New York, Florida, Texas, Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Illinois; and

More recently the number of immigrants from Africa has increased, with the proportion of immigrants from Africa more than doubling from 1990 to 2007. African immigrants settle predominantly in New York, California, Texas, Maryland and Virginia, New Jersey and Massachusetts; and

The 2010 census will no doubt show an even higher number of first generation immigrants; and

AFSCME has been, and continues to be, at the forefront of the effort to ensure that all members of diverse communities are treated equally with dignity and respect and provided full rights, privileges and protection under the law; and

AFSCME has a diverse membership, reflective of the diversity of our nation, and over time our diversity will only increase; and

The challenges facing our union today are greater than ever. In our diversity we must unite so that together as one union we can face these challenges.

That AFSCME welcomes immigrants into our union and encourages affiliates to ensure their full participation through committees, caucuses, networks, celebrations, communications and similar methods; and

That AFSCME proudly recognizes and salutes the growing participation of new immigrants in our union.
Morris Johnson, Delegate
Juan Fernandez, President and Delegate
Egbert Isaacs, Vice President and Delegate
Sheera Glass, Secretary and Delegate
Thomas Orawiec, Treasurer and Delegate
Alan Mendelson, Executive Board Member
Diana Thillet, Executive Board Member
AFSCME Local 154, Council 37
New York

Togba R. Porte, 2nd Vice President and Delegate
AFSCME Local 420, Council 37
New York

The Resolutions Committee