Skip to main content
Resolutions & Amendments

41st International Convention - Chicago, IL (2014)

Protecting the Voting Rights Act

Resolution No. 55
41st International Convention
McCormick Place
July 14 - 18, 2014
Chicago, IL


            The Voting Rights Act continues to be a tool that serves to protect the voting rights of millions of voters across the country today. This landmark civil rights legislation is a critical safeguard to ensuring equal access to the ballot and guaranteeing our fundamental rights as Americans. This law was signed by President Lyndon Johnson in 1965.  Through its passing in 1965, the Voting Rights Act has guaranteed millions of minorities a chance to have their voices heard and their votes counted; and


            The Voting Rights Act was intended to guarantee the principles that each American has the right to vote; that voting should be free, easy and accessible; and that each vote should be counted equally; and


            Conservative groups have initiated campaigns in different states to curtail access to voting, and the voting rights of Americans by creating unequal tiers of voters, and barriers for voting and access to the polls.  Also, these same groups have attempted to pass or have passed state laws which further restrict, suppress or limit the right to vote by eliminating early voting, same day registration, or introducing unusual and restricting identification requirements.


            AFSCME will fight any form of voting discrimination or voter suppression by mobilizing and energizing Americans workers; and


            That AFSCME will lobby congress to support legislation to protect the Voting Rights Act, which intended to enforce the voting rights guaranteed in the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments, by, among others, giving people access to vote, protect their right to access the polling place, and protect voters from any form of discrimination.

Juan Fernandez, President and Delegate
Egbert Isaacs, Vice President and Delegate
Sheera S. Glass, Secretary and Delegate
Thomas Orawiec, Treasurer and Delegate
Diana Thillet, Executive Board Member and Delegate
Juliet White, Executive Board Member
Alan Mendelson, Executive Board Member
AFSCME Local 154, District Council 37 New York