Skip to main content
Resolutions & Amendments

36th International Convention - Anaheim, CA (2004)

Oppose Pre-emptive War

Resolution No. 83
36th International Convention
June 21 - 25, 2004
Anaheim, CA


The George W. Bush doctrine redirects America's foreign policy to allow for unprovoked pre-emptive war against any nation which the president defines as a danger to America. This perceived danger may include the potential for military power that could, sometime in the future, compete against American power. It also allows for U.S. military action irrespective of the United Nations or the opinions of other world leaders or the citizens of other nations; and


This doctrine is seen by most of the people of the world as highly arrogant and dangerous. It is contrary to the ideals of international cooperation and mutual defense under universal rules among nations. Already, the United States under President Bush has alienated much of the world by abrogating treaties involving global warming, the International Court of Justice, and banning land mines and chemical/biological weapons; and


The Iraq War is a perfect example of the flaws inherent in this reckless doctrine. President Bush justified this war based on intelligence regarding "weapons of mass destruction" (WMD) that proved to be almost entirely erroneous. Clearly Iraq never posed a danger to the United States. The rapid military defeat of Iraq demonstrated their weakness. No WMD of any kind have been found, after a year of searching. So either the intelligence was grossly faulty, or President Bush and his administration was exaggerating and/or lying to justify an unnecessary military aggression; and


While recognizing that there continues to be a significant danger posed by terrorists in the United States and around the world, and that the United States is a leader in combating this scourge, in fact the pre-emptive war doctrine actually hampers this effort. Despite the advantages to ridding Saddam Hussein from power, the war in Iraq has greatly agitated terrorists and their supporters, especially in Iraq itself. Our conquest and neo-colonizing an oil rich Arab nation has greatly expanded the recruitment of fanatical terrorists. Attacks against American military and Iraqi civilians have escalated. True democracy is yet only a hope. During the 2002 election debates, President Bush insisted that he was opposed to "nation building." Now we are using American troops to impose our own conception of government onto the people of Iraq, while keeping them dependent and subservient, and under U.S. military occupation. The economy of Iraq is being taken over by U.S. corporations, with the long-term aim of dominating and exploiting the petroleum industry; and


The U.S. military has focused so much of its effort, money and manpower on the occupation of Iraq that other aspects of the fight against terrorists and national and international defense have suffered. U.S. and coalition troops in Iraq remain extremely vulnerable to terrorist attacks. Military responses, such as raids into residential areas, and arrests of opposition leaders, only aggravate the situation, and inspire more attacks. The U.S. military is already greatly over-extended throughout the world. Mercenaries and reservists are now manning the front lines; and


The massive costs for imposing our will through military power has led to massive budget deficits, and has taken funding away from vital programs in the United States. We are spending billions of dollars on building schools, roads, infrastructure and food programs in Iraq and Afghanistan, while funding for schools, highways, transit and social welfare programs in America are facing cutbacks.


That the American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME) renounce the Bush doctrine of pre-emptive war; and


That AFSCME call on President Bush to bring our troops home now.


David Rader, Delegate
Juan Martinez, President
AFSCME Local 843, Council 28

Michael McHugh, President and Delegate
Tracy Kurowski, Secretary and Delegate
AFSCME Local 3506, Council 31

John Riehl, President and Delegate
Michael Mulholland, Delegate
Susan V. Ryan, Delegate
Victor Hunter, Delegate
Lekita Thomas, Delegate
AFSCME Local 207, Council 25