Skip to main content

AFSCME Announces Family Scholarship Winners

AFSCME Announces Family Scholarship Winners
By Pete Levine ·

The future just got a little brighter – and a little more affordable – for the 10 deserving winners of the 2020 AFSCME Family Scholarship. These winners are ready to take the next step toward their higher education, with the momentum of the $2,000 annual award – renewable for up to four years – behind them.

The winners are:

  1. McKenna Connell, Council 25, Local 3317  
  2. Maali DeLeón, Local 4041 
  3. Puneet Kaler, Council 57, Local 2620 
  4. Abigail Little, CSEA/AFSCME Local 1000, L805 
  5. Robert Oates, Council 25, Local 2733
  6. Malachi Proctor, Council 3, Local 112
  7. Brennan Rains, OAPSE/AFSCME Local 4 
  8. Sierra Romero, Council 18, Local 3022
  9. Holly Sexton, Council 8, Local 3619 
  10. Erina Uddin, DC37, Local 420

To be selected for an AFSCME Family scholarship, you must be a graduating high school senior and the child of – or a financially dependent grandchild of – an active, full, dues-paying AFSCME member or active retiree member, and have taken the ACT or SAT.

At the time the scholarship is awarded, students must be enrolled in a full-time degree program either at an accredited college or university, or at a two-year institution that will transfer credits to a four-year institution.

Learn more about the AFSCME Family Scholarship program. Applications for next year will be available after June 15 and must be postmarked no later than Dec. 31, 2020. For information about other AFSCME scholarships, click here.

AFSCME members and eligible family members can also receive a college education for free or at a greatly reduced rate. Learn about how you can earn your associate degree for free with the AFSCME Free College benefit. Ready to get your bachelor’s degree? Check out AFSCME’s Bachelor’s Completion Program.

Related Posts